2009 Real Estate Trends & Networking Conference - Recap

A crowd of over 450 attended the 15th annual FSU Real Estate Trends & Networking Conference, Oct. 29 & 30, 2009. The opening reception/dinner featured comments from Pro-Football Hall of Fame Coach Don Shula regarding the pursuit of excellence. Coach Shula joined Coach Bowden for a segment on the Bobby Bowden call-in show which was broadcast live from the event site during the opening dinner. Professor John Doggett, University of Texas, challenged attendees to consider the inflection point currently occurring in the global market that will dramatically affect local opportunities. Executives and economists debated market conditions and differed on prospects for the future on the plenary panel. Breakout sessions looked to identify opportunities and evaluate conditions. Bob Sasser, President & CEO, Dollar Tree, Inc., the featured speaker at the closing on Friday, highlighted his company’s remarkable performance (1st in the Forbes 500) this past year.

The Network's Award Recipient Announced:
Bob Breslau, President--Real Estate Investment with the Stiles Corporation, was named this year’s recipient of "The Network’s Award." This prestigious award is given to one individual annually in recognition of their enduring and significant contribution to the real estate program at Florida State University.

Kislak Family Fund Gift Recognized:
Dean Caryn Beck-Dudley recognized Tom Bartelmo, President & CEO, J.I. Kislak, Inc. and The Kislak Family Fund for their donation to the Center for Real Estate Education & Research of $250,000. This gift is focused on assisting with three initiatives: (1) the expansion of the Center’s “Market Strategy” forums; (2) the creation of Kislak Awards to promote outstanding student achievement; and (3) the creation of Kislak Scholars program to support faculty scholarship. The 32 students who have already benefitted from this donation were recognized.

The 2009-2010 Scholarship Recipients Recognized:
Arthur J. Gallagher / Chubb Insurance Company Scholarship – Thomas Speno; CCIM Educational Foundation National Scholarship – Adam Foret; Crossman & Company Endowed Scholarship – Lloyd Davis; ICSC National Scholarship – Natalie Champion; Mark Edward Burgess Memorial Scholarship – Christophal Hellewell and Stacey Sefcik; Mark Hillis and Nan Casper Hillis Endowed Scholarship – Justin Schortmann; Principle Valuation Award – Michael Wong; Pension Real Estate Association (PREA) National Scholarship – Michael Wong; Society of Industrial and Office Realtors (SIOR) – Florida Chapter Scholarship – Kent Brown, Megan Campbell, Natalie Champion, Christopher Cibula, and Jon Howard. Teel, Teel & Hatcher Endowed Scholarship – Bryan Castillo and Jessie Williams.

The 2009 Outstanding Student Graduate Award Recipients Named:
Ashton Bligh; David Hector; Claire Thomas, and Tim Sportschuetz. This award is given annually to a select number of students who graduated the previous year, and exemplify the outstanding academic excellence and personal character we hope to see in our program’s graduates.